Sanguine Soul

The void some of us call life

Posted on: October 14, 2012

Before we even know it our ephemeral existence begins to fade into nothingness  and when that happens it is often too late to wind back the hands of time. It is a travesty when able lives brimming with potential are squandered into absolute oblivion. There is no feeling worse than looking back at your life and trying to think  hard about what you did that deserves to be remembered. I am no sage but I know that if I didn’t do my part to make the most of what is at my disposal my life would be nothing more than wasted space.

Is it enough to be self indulgent? Is that even living? Is that the purpose of being here? This hedonistic capitalist world has made us unconscious slaves of our own superficial desires. They say capitalism is about individualism but what is individualism? Its just a polite way of saying you do not give a dime about anyone but yourself. 
Everyday I find a reason to complain, everyday I resent a part of life and everyday I ignore more than half of this worlds population that doesn’t know any better than striving to get a hot meal. My incessant rants then begin to feel petty. I feel petty.

But tomorrow is another day right? Wrong! Tomorrow never comes and when it does it becomes the day after and the day after that and the day after that until we run out of tomorrows. So this idea of a better tomorrow is a delusion because it will never materialize. Can I blame the system? Perhaps… Can I beat the system? Absolutely… Do I really want to? Certainly NOT if I choose to let tomorrow be the judge of that.

11:15pm Sunday 14th 2012

1 Response to "The void some of us call life"

well! The blended output of two continents is marvelous. We are certainly here for a definite cause. We need to understand it. for that purpose, we need to explore it. Be the torch bearer. For the knowledge of this mundane world is to perished one day. The soul and deeds will survive to bear the brunt of life hereafter. Let us my Fellow! do not ………

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 11,365 hits
Let me take you to places you haven't been before :)
October 2012
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other subscribers

Top Clicks

  • None

Top Rated

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading